BRICS countries, stronger together

Public private partnership

BRICS countries, stronger together

BRICS and South-South and triangular cooperation


What is it?

This project is a part of the ILO’s larger approach to the BRICS countries, Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa, all of which are developing countries at a similar stage of newly advanced economic development.

The ITCILO aims to supply capacity-building services that fit within South-South cooperation models and complement local expertise and contexts.


How does it work?

BRICS countries require customized development support, as they are simultaneously destinations and sources of foreign direct investment.

The Centre seeks new funding mechanisms for learning and training activities in these countries as BRICS economies grow and traditional development partners decrease monetary aid.

The ITCILO follows the ILO’s guidelines on engagement with non-traditional development partners to explore new collaboration formats and tools for institutional capacity-building services.


Where can I find more information?

Read more about the ITCILO's approach to BRICS and South-South and triangular cooperation here.

The ILO’s website provides background information and more details about South-South cooperation.

The ITCILO’s online platform for BRICS country stakeholders is coming soon.